Firewall addresses define sources and destinations of network traffic and are used when creating policies. When properly set up these firewall objects can be used with great flexibility to make the configuration of firewall policies simpler and more intuitive. The FortiGate unit compares the IP addresses contained in packet headers with a security policy’s source and destination addresses to determine if the security policy matches the traffic.

The address categories and the types within those categories on the FortiGate unit can include:

  • IPv4 addresses
  • IP address and Netmask
  • IP address range
  • Geography based address
  • Fully Qualified Domain Name (FQDN) address
  • Wildcard FQDN
  • IPv4 Address Group
  • IPv6 addresses
  • Subnets
  • IP range
  • IPv6 Address Group
  • Multicast addresses
  • Multicast IP range
  • Broadcast subnets
  • Explicit Proxy Addresse
  • URL Pattern
  • Host Regex Match
  • URL Category
  • HttpMethod
  • User Agent
  • HTTP Header
  • Advanced (Source)
  • Advanced (Destination)
  • IP Pools (IPv4)
  • Overload
  • One-to-one
  • Fixed Port Range
  • Port Block Allocation
  • IP Pools (IPv6)
  • Virtual IP Addresses
  • IPv4
  • IPv6
  • NAT46
  • NAT64
This entry was posted in FortiOS 5.4 Handbook on by .

About Mike

Michael Pruett, CISSP has a wide range of cyber-security and network engineering expertise. The plethora of vendors that resell hardware but have zero engineering knowledge resulting in the wrong hardware or configuration being deployed is a major pet peeve of Michael's. This site was started in an effort to spread information while providing the option of quality consulting services at a much lower price than Fortinet Professional Services. Owns PacketLlama.Com (Fortinet Hardware Sales) and Office Of The CISO, LLC (Cybersecurity consulting firm).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.